Being Trans on Vacation

19437427_1508466635842921_5392789379223020477_n

Recently my partner and I went on vacation to the Smoky Mountains in North Carolina/Tennessee. This was the first time I have gone on vacation since I have come out as trans. I have not changed my name legally so when people at the hotel spoke to me they referred to me by my birth name of course and perceived me to be a woman. This was difficult and disheartening to me, but I knew it was just a fact of life at this point in my journey. I had just had my first hormone shot the day before we left on vacation so obviously nothing on the outside had changed.

Going on vacation as a trans person that doesn’t pass yet can be difficult especially when you are in an area that you are unfamiliar with. I currently live in Florida where its a tad more liberal then in North Carolina where I was. When you are uncertain of your surroundings and what people will think I think most of us tend to be cautious on what we do and how we act. I personally do only because I am cautious about my own personal safety. North Carolina is known not to be trans friendly as we all know with the bathroom bill issue. I’m sure my outlook on being trans and going on vacation will change some when I am passing.

I think no matter where you are or what you are doing you should always be aware of your surroundings to protect yourself. Because unfortunately in this world there are a lot of people that don’t like trans people or don’t understand it so the hate and turmoil you can receive from it can be devastating. What I would recommend about being trans on vacation is be yourself. We have all fought so long to be who we are that you should be yourself. Even though I got referred as she/her through out the vacation and no I did not correct them because I felt like I will never see these people again so why bother correcting them and making them try to understand something. It was easier for me in the long run to just let it roll off my back and chalk it up to part of my journey. All I can say is to be careful. I’m sorry my last two post have been short and I haven’t been posting as often. I have been super busy with stuff, but will get back on some good topics coming soon.

Leave a Reply

